The Girls - Emma Cline

The Girls

By Emma Cline

  • Release Date: 2016-06-14
  • Genre: Fiction & Literature
Score: 4
4
From 1,026 Ratings

Description

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • An indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong—this stunning first novel is perfect for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides’s The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan’s A Visit from the Goon Squad.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST AND NPR

Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is in thrall to Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged—a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence.

Emma Cline’s remarkable debut novel is gorgeously written and spellbinding, with razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight. The Girls is a brilliant work of fiction.

Praise for The Girls

“Spellbinding . . . A seductive and arresting coming-of-age story hinged on Charles Manson, told in sentences at times so finely wrought they could almost be worn as jewelry . . . [Emma] Cline gorgeously maps the topography of one loneliness-ravaged adolescent heart. She gives us the fictional truth of a girl chasing danger beyond her comprehension, in a Summer of Longing and Loss.”The New York Times Book Review

“[The Girls reimagines] the American novel . . . Like Mary Gaitskill’s Veronica or Lorrie Moore’s Who Will Run the Frog Hospital?, The Girls captures a defining friendship in its full humanity with a touch of rock-memoir, tell-it-like-it-really-was attitude.”Vogue

“Debut novels like this are rare, indeed. . . . The most remarkable quality of this novel is Cline’s ability to articulate the anxieties of adolescence in language that’s gorgeously poetic without mangling the authenticity of a teenager’s consciousness. The adult’s melancholy reflection and the girl’s swelling impetuousness are flawlessly braided together. . . . For a story that traffics in the lurid notoriety of the Manson murders, The Girls is an extraordinary act of restraint. With the maturity of a writer twice her age, Cline has written a wise novel that’s never showy: a quiet, seething confession of yearning and terror.”The Washington Post

“Emma Cline has an unparalleled eye for the intricacies of girlhood, turning the stuff of myth into something altogether more intimate. She reminds us that behind so many of our culture’s fables exists a girl: unseen, unheard, angry. This book will break your heart and blow your mind.”—Lena Dunham

“Emma Cline’s first novel positively hums with fresh, startling, luminous prose. The Girls announces the arrival of a thrilling new voice in American fiction.”—Jennifer Egan

“I don’t know which is more amazing, Emma Cline’s understanding of human beings or her mastery of language.”—Mark Haddon, New York Times bestselling author of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Reviews

  • Falls flat.

    2
    By Nickipil
    I really wanted to like this book. I couldn't get into it like I usually do. It never became one of those books I couldn't put down, even near the climax. The author is descriptive and can set a scene, but fairly uninteresting scenes just go on and on, over and over. It doesn't take long to figure out that this story is fairly spot on for the story of Charles Manson and family. Knowing this, nothing is imaginative or surprising. Plot lines that could bring some excitement fall flat. Evie is boring and doesn't seem to have much of a real personality. I'm not convinced it added to the story to have her adult self represented at all. It would have been much more interesting from almost any other character's point of view.
  • Just read it❤❤

    5
    By Haleylanae
    Loved this book.
  • a look into human nature

    4
    By Toni FGMAMTC
    I can see how many won't like this book, but I found it interesting. It sort of rambles and bit and talks around what happened instead of about it as much. It's more inside the lead's head than showing these horrible facts that many may be looking to find in a story of a cult that commits murder. It's a think piece. She seems like so many other teens. Many are looking to find their place. They want to reject the things happening around them and find their people. They're so vulnerable and form attachments so easily. Even though she doesn't actually participate in the actual murders, she can't say that she wouldn't have, and she doesn't hate the ones that did. And now as an adult, she sees teens in just the same spot mentally that she was. It's just interesting to me how the average can turn into horrific.
  • Captivating

    5
    By 00grey00
    The imagery, descriptions, and analogies are so well done that I can feel how she feels and see what she sees. It was a captivating book from cover to cover.
  • Short and Anticlimactic

    3
    By Melissssssssa
    Enjoyed the style of writing however I felt l was waiting for something to happen the entire time.
  • Well,

    3
    By Adelezcoeur
    I absolutely loved the book until I got into its finally chapters. They were very bland to say the least. The ending was very boring and didn't leave me wanting more and that saddens me. Because that's what I love most in a good book!
  • Gross...

    1
    By Julieatwork
    I would have liked the book more if it had gone more into the backgrounds of these "girls." Also the depiction of the young child's murder was completely unnecessary, disturbing and distracting. Anyone who has raised a young child (most people) would find this in poor taste, especially as it doesn't serve any function in the story. I've read several accounts of the Manson murders far more compelling and interesting.
  • Didn't get the hype!

    3
    By Sid's Girlfriend
    I didn't care for the author's writing style! Wordy and very overwritten like she was trying too hard?with a thesaurus in hand. Had to go back and try to figure out what she was trying to say! Story has been done to death especially if you grew up in that time frame. But for that reason, the story line made me continue. Wasn't the worst read but didn't think it was worthy of all the five star reviews.
  • Dull

    1
    By Gypsyjinx
    Boring and predictable. The characters are not interesting and not developed very well. The plot is weak. Over all I just found it dull and lacking in the kind of details that make a story interesting. A quick and easy read, but hardly a gripping page turner.
  • The Girls

    2
    By SmittyRush
    What a disappointment! It's been raved about and does not deliver. Terrible plot and ending.