The Widow - Fiona Barton

The Widow

By Fiona Barton

  • Release Date: 2016-02-16
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
Score: 4
4
From 1,047 Ratings

Description

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

An NPR Best Book of 2016
One of The Wall Street Journal’s 5 “Killer Books” of the Year
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year

For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, an electrifying thriller that will take you into the dark spaces that exist between a husband and a wife.


When the police started asking questions, Jean Taylor turned into a different woman. One who enabled her and her husband to carry on, when more bad things began to happen...
 
But that woman’s husband died last week. And Jean doesn’t have to be her anymore.
 
There’s a lot Jean hasn’t said over the years about the crime her husband was suspected of committing. She was too busy being the perfect wife, standing by her man while living with the accusing glares and the anonymous harassment.
 
Now there’s no reason to stay quiet. There are people who want to hear her story. They want to know what it was like living with that man. She can tell them that there were secrets. There always are in a marriage.
 
The truth—that’s all anyone wants. But the one lesson Jean has learned in the last few years is that she can make people believe anything…

Reviews

  • Boring and slow

    2
    By Holli1215
    Not sure how this book got such great reviews. I was drawn into the story but found it slow, boring and only finished it because I wanted to know the end. Let down
  • Thriller

    5
    By K. Hutton
    Great book! Loved it ❤
  • Enjoyable

    4
    By Pizza eater 47
    Maybe not the right title for a grim story but it was worth the read. Well done.
  • A thrilling unputdownable read

    5
    By Ihabmarz
    The story was captivating from beginning to end, and it was smartly written because the suspense gets more intense from one page to another. As you leaf through the pages, you get ambushed by certain twists only when you least expect - which one of the things that mostly interest in psychological thrillers.
  • The Widow

    5
    By Artymusician
    This is an excellent book that made me realize that there are many victims in a tragedy. I had never given much thought to the wives of child rapists and killers. Psychopaths can always blame others for their evil, and seem to select gullible and vulnerable partners, easily controlled and manipulated. This book humanized an otherwise seemingly repulsive and complicit widow. It made me feel tremendous sadness for her, and gave me a new perspective on unspeakable acts of evil. Great writing.
  • The Widow

    5
    By AG Muffins
    excellent read!!
  • Sad but intriguing

    5
    By Debsopinion
    Although this is a very sad subject, I couldn't stop reading. This kept me interested all of the way to the end. I highly recommend this book.
  • I don't need more fear as a parent-didn't enjoy

    2
    By Macncheddarcheese
    There is enough fear for parents that I didn't enjoy reading a story about how things can change if you let your eyes off your child for a second. I didn't relate to the characters either and didn't sympathize or empathize with them at all. All around not enjoyable!!
  • Great book

    5
    By joharri3
    Very good book.
  • Ok, but not great

    3
    By Heathsuz
    For all the comparisons to Gone Girl, GG is better. I did like how you got the story from multiple perspectives, and the secondary commentary one could gather about the effect of the media on cases like this. I also was more sympathetic to some the characters. But I was disappointed that the mystery didn't end up that mysterious after all.